Stenbock House by J.Nilson


Estonia is a parliamentary republic. The Parliament, the legislative power in Estonia, has 101 members and selects the Government, the executive power, which consists of 12 ministers, including the Prime Minister.

The political culture is considered very stable in Estonia, as the power is held between two to three parties that have been in politics for a long time. The same phenomena can be noted in other countries of the Northern Europe.

The current prime minister of Estonia, Andrus Ansip, is the second longest-serving prime minister in Europe.

From the 20 years perspective after gaining independence Estonia has been successful in areas of democratic reform. Today Estonia can be praised for its low level of corruption, being one of the most stable and long-lasting government with a transparent and predictable economic policy. Furthermore, Estonian is renown for its comprehensive and progressive development of e-democracy.